Choir Members

Musical Director: James Llewelyn Jones B Mus (Hons). M Mus.

James Llewelyn Jones - Musical Director & ConductorJames' passion for choral music was enriched at a young age singing in both The Four Counties Youth Choir and The Sirenian Singers, Wrexham. He was also a member of the National Youth Choir's of both Wales and Great Britain, he was a founder member of the National Chamber Choir. His musical education continued in Birmingham where he gained his B Mus (Hons) and MMus degrees with distinction.

James conducted the National Children’s Choir of Great Britain for 11 years, where his initiatives saw the formation of the National Children’s Training Choir and also Dulce Corum (the National Girls’ Chamber Choir of Great Britain).

He has conducted some of the world's leading childrens' choirs including the European Union Children’s Chorus, Hungary; the Canzonetta Children’s Choirs of Manchester – formally the Manchester Boys’ Choir; the Glen Ellyn Children’s Chorus, Chicago and has undertaken several invitations from the Toronto Children’s Chorus - firmly regarded as the foremost children's ensemble.

In 2006, James succeeded D. Clive Griffiths M.B.E as Director of Côr Meibion Canoldir, Birmingham. Under his direction the choir have achieved an outstanding record of success in the competitive arena. Two 1st prizes at the Jersey International Choral Festival, including the jury's award for best musical interpretation, when Sir David Willcocks said of Canoldir, “This is how Male Voice Choirs should, but rarely do sound.” Three 1st prizes followed in 2011, at Europe's largest male choral festival in Cornwall. James was commended by the international jury for his innovative competitive programming and the choir’s unique style and consistently high, technically assured performance. In November 2014 Canoldir triumphed again winning the North Wales Choral Festival in Llandudno.

James has toured extensively throughout Europe and to America, Australia, Canada and New Zealand. Notable performances in the Cathedrals of Barcelona; Notre Dame, Paris; St. Mary's, Sydney; St. Stephen's, Brisbane and St. Mark's Basilica, Venice.

He is in demand as a choral clinician and workshop leader. At the invitation of International Choral Federations he has undertaken workshops in Sydney, Canberra, Brisbane, Auckland and in Vancouver, Toronto and Chicago following a successful visit in 2008 when he conducted a massed symposium of over 400 children for the Glen Ellyn Children’s Choirs, Chicago.

James has also had the honour of being a guest conductor with the City of Birmingham Symphony Youth Chorus, and under his direction the Senior Choirs and Chamber Choir from Edgbaston High School for Girls’ performed to great acclaim and appeared as Guest Artistes for Hayley Westenra’s ‘Christmas Wishes Concert’ at Symphony Hall.

He is the Musical Director of The Midlands Hospitals' Choir and The Phoenix Singers, Bournville.

James is delighted to be immersing himself, once again, in the rich choral traditions of the area. He is thoroughly enjoying working with the choir and getting to know all the singers and he is most grateful to the chaps and their families for the warm welcome they have given him.

Accompanist and Assistant Musical Director: Kevin Whitley B.Mus (Hons) ALCM MBA

Kevin Whitely

Born in Wrexham, organist and pianist, Kevin was appointed choir accompanist in 1995 and is also deputy Musical Director. Kevin was appointed Acting Musical Director 2015 before being appointed to Musical Director of Flint Male Voice Choir in April 2016.

Kevin is also accompanist of Choral Variations, a mixed choir from Llangollen. Kevin graduated with Honours in Music from the University of Wales, Cardiff in 1995. While studying there he accompanied the University Choir for two consecutive years. He studied organ with Roger Fisher and has played the organ at St David’s Hall in Cardiff for Mahler’s Symphony No 8. He also has been guest organist at St Collen’s Church, Llangollen and St Giles Church, Wrexham, for works including Stainer’s Crucifixion, The Last Supper and Handel’s Messiah, and is currently organist at St James Church, Rhosddu, Wrexham and St. Mary’s, Ruabon. He has achieved an Advanced Certificate in piano performance and a ALCM Diploma.

Kevin has undertaken a vast array of TV and Radio performances, appearing on S4C, ITV and BBC television and radio including several live broadcasts. He has produced a CD of songs from the shows and ballads entitled ‘Fingers in the Sky.’

Kevin is in great demand as an accompanist and has worked with some top artists including Katherine Jenkins, Luis Gomes, Meinir Wyn Roberts, Willard Wight, Bryn Terfel and the late Harry Secombe (to name but a few).


Committee Members
Non-committee members

Chairman: Alun Roberts 01978 843575
Vice Chairman: Ceredig Evans
Secretary : Geraint Phillips 07811 379291
Concert Secretary Hugh Jordan 07802 217315
Treasurer: David Scott - 01978 842751
Librarian: Glyn Jones and Tom Lancaster
Stage Manager: Ceredig Evans
Registrar: Ceredig Evans
Press Officer: Paulinus Barnes

James Jones, Tudor Rowlands, John Raymond Jones (Co-opted member), Michael Edwards, Gareth Pritchard, Kevin Williams

Transport Manager: Ceredig Evans
Sick Visitor: Barry Powell
Advertising and Programmes: Subcommittee


Singing Members
1st Tenors
2nd Tenors
1st Bass
2nd Bass
Mike Connolly
Jed Allister
Alan Davies
John A Davies LM
Kevin Davies
Colin Aubrey LM
Berwyn Dodd LM
Ceredig Evans
Norman Davies
Paulinus Barnes
Hywel Dodd LM
Lloyd Hitchmough LM
Robin Evans
Brian Davies
Stewart Ellis LM
David Hughes
Larry Groom
Graham Edwards LM
Mel Evans LM
Gareth P Hughes LM
Czaba Katona
Michael Edwards
Tom Lancaster
David Hugheson
Gareth Morris
Ronald Evans
Stephen Parry
Jonathan Hughes
Len Phillips
Rhys Hitchmough
Geraint Phillips
Gruffydd Jones LM
Jonathan Phillips
Damian Jones
Eric Pritchard
Richard Jones LM
Barry Powell LM
Dion Jones
Tudor Rowlands LM
Geoffrey Kilfoil
Vaughn Pritchard
Emyr Jones
Ian Thomas
Harry Pritchard
David Scott LM
Glyn Jones LM
Matt Williams
Alun Roberts LM
Paul Scott
Hugh Jordan
Enoch Smith
Austin Thomas
Phil King
Owain Smith LM
Gordon Williams LM
David Lloyd LM
David Watts
David J Morris LM
Gareth Pritchard LM
Harold Richards LM
Tim Williams
Non-singing Members
1st Tenors
2nd Tenors
1st Bass
2nd Bass
Elwyn Dodd LM
James Davies LM
Mel Evans LM
Len Gilpin LM
Arther Edwards LM
Keith Roberts LM
Sam Jones LM
John R Jones Life VP
Gordon Price LM
Dennis Mills LM
Gwynfor Roberts LM
Cyril Roberts LM
Bill Schleising LM
Noel Williams LM
Musical Director
James Llewelyn Jones
Kevin Whitley

LM = Life Member, VP = Vice President

  Home Dates News Our Music Our Choir Contact